The Complete Stories (FSG Classics)

The Complete Stories (FSG Classics)

Flannery O'Connor

Language: English

Pages: 576

ISBN: 0374515360

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub

Winner of the National Book Award

The publication of this extraordinary volume firmly established Flannery O'Connor's monumental contribution to American fiction. There are thirty-one stories here in all, including twelve that do not appear in the only two story collections O'Connor put together in her short lifetime--Everything That Rises Must Converge and A Good Man Is Hard to Find.

O'Connor published her first story, "The Geranium," in 1946, while she was working on her master's degree at the University of Iowa. Arranged chronologically, this collection shows that her last story, "Judgement Day"--sent to her publisher shortly before her death―is a brilliantly rewritten and transfigured version of "The Geranium." Taken together, these stories reveal a lively, penetrating talent that has given us some of the most powerful and disturbing fiction of the twentieth century. Also included is an introduction by O'Connor's longtime editor and friend, Robert Giroux.

A History of the English Bible as Literature (A History of the Bible as Literature)

American Supernatural Tales (Penguin Classics)

Passionate Hearts: The Poetry of Sexual Love

Once Upon a Time: New Fairy Tales

Download sample


Rated 4.45 of 5 – based on 26 votes